Info

Professional Book Nerds

We're not just book nerds. We're professional book nerds! We are staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks from public libraries and schools. It's our job to discuss books all day long so we thought, "Why not share the conversation!" Hear about the best books we've read, get recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. Every title discussed is available to borrow through public libraries. Get started reading at overdrive.com and subscribe to our podcast today!
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
Professional Book Nerds
2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December


All Episodes
Archives
Now displaying: January, 2016
Jan 28, 2016

Say Hello!

Find OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter and email the podcast directly at feedback@overdrive.com 

 

Episode Overview

Thursday, February 4th marks the second annual Harry Potter Book Night and the OverDrive staff is celebrating! We are a company full of Harry Potter fans and in today's episode, two Ravenclaws, a Gryffindor, and a Slytherin share how they first got into J.K. Rowling's series, remember standing in line at midnight book releases, and, of course, discuss the movies versus the books. You'll also get to hear which books are our favorites and why. With ALA's annual conference in Orlando this summer, there is also talk about the Wizarding World of Harry Potter theme park at Universal Studios Florida. 

 

Featured OverDrive Staff

Jill, Rachel K., Emma, and Adam

 

Music

"Buddy" provided royalty free from www.bensound.com 

 

Podcast Overview

We're not just book nerds: we're professional book nerds and the staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks available through public libraries and schools. Hear about the best books we've read, get personalized recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. For more great reads, find OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter

Jan 21, 2016

Episode Overview

In our fifth episode, host Jill is joined by Adam and Sheila as they discuss some of the top award winners to come out of 2016 ALA Midwinter conference as well as some of the titles they've recently finished reading. Our reader recommendations are pulled from some of our Twitter followers and we also spend time remembering the late great David Bowie and Alan Rickman. 

Be sure to follow OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter and maybe you'll get a personalized recommendation on the podcast, too!

 

Featured OverDrive Staff

Jill, Sheila, and Adam

 

Intro (0:00-2:38)

 

ALA Award Winners (2:39-6:11)

Last Stop on Market Street by Matt De La Pena, Illustrated by Christian Robinson

The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Wonders of the Invisible World by Christopher Barzak

 

Recent Reads (6:12-15:39)

Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld

A Wild Swan and Other Tales by Michael Cunningham

The Gap of Time by Jeannette Winterson

William Shakespeare Star Wars by Ian Doescher

Evicted by Matthew Desmond

Jim Henson by Brian Jay Jones

A Step Toward Falling by Cammie McGovern

These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

Accidental Saints by Nadia Bolz-Weber

Pastrix by Nadia Bolz-Weber

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay

Every Day I Fight by Stuart Scott

 

Readers Advisory Recommendations (15:40-23:16) 

Readalikes for Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

 

Readalikes for Moby Dick by Herman Melville

 

Readalikes for In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson

 

Pre-Pubs and Other Books (23:17-30:12)

Morning Star by Pierce Brown, Book 3 in the Red Rising Trilogy

View from the Cheap Seats by Neil Gaiman

Up From the Sea by Leza Lowitz

Pax by Sara Pennypacker, author of the Clementine Series

Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell

The Oxford Inheritance by Ann A. McDonald

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

Black Chalk by Christopher J. Yates

The Likeness by Tana French

At the Existentialist Cafe by Sarah Bakewell

 

Remembering Alan Rickman and David Bowie (30:13-End)

Their bookish roles include Labyrinth: The Novelization, Harry Potter series, Sense and Sensibility, and The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood

 

Music

"Buddy" provided royalty free from www.bensound.com 

 

Podcast Overview

We're not just book nerds: we're professional book nerds and the staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks available through public libraries and schools. Hear about the best books we've read, get personalized recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. For more great reads, find OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter

Jan 14, 2016

Episode Overview

Today's episode features OverDrive's own social media guru Adam as he interviews Marieke Nijkamp, Dutch author of the brand new YA novel This Is Where It Ends which focuses on the terrifying 54 minutes of a school shooting as seen through the eyes of four different perspectives.

Marieke discusses her writing and research process as well as the incident that proved to be the catalyst for her debut novel. A strong advocate of #WeNeedDiverseBooks, Marieke shares her own personal perspective of why diversity in literature, and especially YA literature, is so very important. 

Along with talking about her own book, Marieke offers her own book recommendations for our podcast listeners. Some of her recent reads and favorite books are as follows:

The Letter for the King by Tonke Dragt

Last Leaves Falling by Sarah Benwell

Just Visiting by Dahlia Adler

The forthcoming book she's most looking forward to reading is: 

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

 

Episode was recorded in Boston at 2016 ALA Midwinter. 

 

Podcast Overview

We're not just book nerds: we're professional book nerds and the staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks available through public libraries and schools. Hear about the best books we've read, get personalized recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. For more great reads, find OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter

Jan 7, 2016

We're not just book nerds: we're professional book nerds and the staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks available through public libraries and schools. Hear about the best books we've read, get personalized recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. For more great reads, find OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter

Featured Librarians

Jill, Todd, and Sheila

 

Intro (0:00-1:55)

 

Recent Reads (1:56-16:33)

The Nest by Kenneth Oppel

Lafayette in the Somewhat United States by Sarah Vowell

The Dorito Effect by Mark Schatzker

Most Dangerous by Steve Sheinkin

The Tsar of Love and Techno by Anthony Marra

The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory

 

Readers Advisory Recommendations (16:34-24:40) 

Books to celebrate Appreciate a Dragon Day

Audiobook road trip recommendations for someone who likes storyteller comedians and humorous biographies like Amy Poehler's Yes Please

Books for someone who likes "wizards and stuff." Favorite series is The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher which starts with Storm Front.

  • Hounded by Kevin Hearne. Book 1 of The Iron Druid Chronicles
  • Bloodlist by P. N. Elrod. Book 1 of The Vampire Files 
  • The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. Book 1 of The Kingkiller Chronicle
  • The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima. Book 1 of The Heir Chronicles

 

Pre-Pubs and Other Books (24:41-End)

Sweetbitter by Stephanie Danler

Dodgers by Bill Beverly

Booked by Kwame Alexander

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. Book 1 of Shadowhunters: The Mortal Instruments Series

The Bitter Side of Sweet by Tara Sullivan

A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson

Notes From a Small Island  by Bill Bryson

Road to Little Dribbling by Bill Bryson

The Lost Continent by Bill Bryson

Black Rabbit Hall by Eve Chase

 

Music

"Buddy" provided royalty free from www.bensound.com 

1