Info

Professional Book Nerds

We're not just book nerds. We're professional book nerds! We are staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks from public libraries and schools. It's our job to discuss books all day long so we thought, "Why not share the conversation!" Hear about the best books we've read, get recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. Every title discussed is available to borrow through public libraries. Get started reading at overdrive.com and subscribe to our podcast today!
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
Professional Book Nerds
2020
June
May
April
March
February
January


2019
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2018
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December


All Episodes
Archives
Now displaying: Page 1
May 8, 2020

It was written in the stars that someday we'd join forces with the Reading Glasses gals and create the nerdiest book event ever. Here it is. An hour of live book recommendations done over Zoom. If you missed out and would like us to do this again, reach out to us via twitter or email and let us know!

Book requests and our recommendations" 

“I just finished the first book in The Witcher series and I’d love more fantasy short story recommendations.”

 

Jill - Rogues (Anthology)

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780345537263

Dangerous Women

https://www.overdrive.com/media/2052864/dangerous-women

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780765332073

 

Adam - Toil and Trouble (Anthology)

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781335016270

 

“Looking for a read-a-like for Little Women and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.”

 

Mallory - Where’d You Go Bernadette by Maria Semple

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780316204262

https://www.overdrive.com/media/650438/whered-you-go-bernadette

 

When We Were Magic by Sarah Gailey

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781534432871

https://www.overdrive.com/media/4815623/when-we-were-magic

 

The Girl Who Slept With God by Val Brelinki

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780143109433

https://www.overdrive.com/media/2015858/the-girl-who-slept-with-god

 

“Looking for recommendations for books about small towns with quirky characters, with a sense of a small community where the characters get all up in each other’s business”

Adam - Cedar Valley by Holly Throsby

https://www.overdrive.com/media/4297634/cedar-valley

 

Nathan Coulter by Wendell Berry

https://www.overdrive.com/media/228070/nathan-coulter

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781582434094

Mallory - The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781492623441

https://www.overdrive.com/media/2139814/the-readers-of-broken-wheel-recommend

 

“Looking for a read-a-like for Bunny by Mona Awad, something weird and creepy but with no violence and or horror.”

 

Mallory - The Return by Rachel Harrison

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780593098660

https://www.overdrive.com/media/4838379/the-return

 

Sarah Waters

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781594633928

https://www.overdrive.com/media/1742956/the-paying-guests

Sarah Perry

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780062856401

https://www.overdrive.com/media/5130366/melmoth

Dare Me by Megan Abbott

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780316430173

https://www.overdrive.com/media/1089210/dare-me

Adam - Meddling Kids by Edgar Cantero

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781101974445

https://www.overdrive.com/media/3108736/meddling-kids

 

Jill - The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781683691433

https://www.overdrive.com/media/5038989/the-southern-book-clubs-guide-to-slaying-vampires

 

“Looking for queer sci-fi.”

 

Adam - The Disasters by M.K. England

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780062657688

https://www.overdrive.com/media/3900835/the-disasters

Once and Future by Amy Rose Capetta and Cori McCarthy

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780316449274

https://www.overdrive.com/media/4659499/once-future

 

Mallory - The Stars Are Legion by Kameron Hurley

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781481447942

https://www.overdrive.com/media/5038996/the-stars-are-legion

 

“Looking for a book recommendation to get me out of a slump. I love sci fi and fantasy and need something that will really get its claws in me and get me excited and invested right away.”

 

Adam - The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781524739010

https://www.overdrive.com/media/4775066/the-kingdom-of-back

 

Brea - The Future of Another Timeline by Annalee Newitz

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780765392107

https://www.overdrive.com/media/4500036/the-future-of-another-timeline

 

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781101886717

https://www.overdrive.com/media/2466122/sleeping-giants

 

The Test by Sylvain Neuvel

https://www.overdrive.com/media/4297407/the-test

“Can you recommend any novellas? Big books are intimidating and hard to focus on.”

Mallory - The Haunting of Tram Car 015 by P. Djeli Clark

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781250294807

https://www.overdrive.com/media/4288450/the-haunting-of-tram-car-015

 

Split Tooth by Tanya Tagaq

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780143198055

https://www.overdrive.com/media/3970894/split-tooth

 

Phantom Twin by Lisa Brown

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781626729247

https://www.overdrive.com/media/5243308/the-phantom-twin

 

Brea - Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead by Olga Tokarczuk, translated by Antonia Lloyd-Jones

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780525541332

https://www.overdrive.com/media/4159273/drive-your-plow-over-the-bones-of-the-dead

 

“Looking for recommendations along the lines of Ghost Maps, nonfiction about diseases.”

Brea - The Great Influenza by John M. Barry

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780143036494

https://www.overdrive.com/media/204479/the-great-influenza

New Guinea Tapeworms and Jewish Grandmothers: Tales of Parasites and People by Robert S. Desowitz

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780393304268

 

“Looking for a good stand alone middle grade novel.”

 

Adam - Sunnyside Plaza by Scott Simon

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780316531207

https://www.overdrive.com/media/4669399/sunnyside-plaza

 

Doll Bones by Holly Black

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781416963998

https://www.overdrive.com/media/1139037/doll-bones

 

Mallory - Small Spaces by Katherine Arden

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780525515043

https://www.overdrive.com/media/3656348/small-spaces

 

 “I really love a teenage girl/young adult detective story. Any recommendations in that realm?

 

Mallory - Goldie Vance

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781608868988

https://www.overdrive.com/media/3007148/goldie-vance-volume-1

 

Jill - The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780385343497

https://www.overdrive.com/media/199312/the-sweetness-at-the-bottom-of-the-pie

 

Adam & Brea - A Study in Charllote by Brittany Cavallaro

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780062398918

https://www.overdrive.com/media/2236808/a-study-in-charlotte

 

“Looking for a read-a-like for Seanin McGuire/Mira Grant, historical or modern fantasy, maybe combined with a fairytale.”

 

Mallory - The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781250147936

https://www.overdrive.com/media/4559254/the-hazel-wood

 

Adam - Gingerbread by Helen Oyeyemi

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781594634666

https://www.overdrive.com/media/4394966/gingerbread

 

Brea - A Blade So Black by L.L. McKinney

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781250211668

https://www.overdrive.com/media/3750319/a-blade-so-black

The Strange Case of the Alchemist’s Daughter by Theodora Goss

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781481466516

https://www.overdrive.com/media/2988715/the-strange-case-of-the-alchemists-daughter

 

“Looking for diverse mystery recommendations.”

 

Jill - The 7 ½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781492670124

https://www.overdrive.com/media/3877587/the-seven-deaths-of-evelyn-hardcastle

 

Ruth Ware

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781501132957

https://www.overdrive.com/media/2526344/the-woman-in-cabin-10

Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780062645234

https://www.overdrive.com/media/2962692/magpie-murders

 

Mallory - Sarah Waters

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781573228732

https://www.overdrive.com/media/242291/affinity

 

“I’ve been into nonfiction comics lately … looking for more.”

Adam - The Best We Could Do by Thi Bui

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781419718786

https://www.overdrive.com/media/3135209/the-best-we-could-do

 

Brea - My Favorite Thing is Monsters by Emil Ferris

“Looking for a read-a-like for the Wayward Children series, reverse portal fantasy.”

 

Mallory - Ten Thousands Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780316421997

https://www.overdrive.com/media/4513546/the-ten-thousand-doors-of-january

 

Brea - The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780385541213

https://www.overdrive.com/media/4716002/the-starless-sea

 

“Looking for nihilistic YA…  desperately want more reads with nihilistic young adults as they go through a crisis of self and get closer to university. ”

 

Mallory - A.S. King

 

Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future

https://www.overdrive.com/media/1547918/glory-obriens-history-of-the-future

 

Dig

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781101994917

 

Adam - The Rest of Us Just Live by Patrick Ness

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780062403179

https://www.overdrive.com/media/2052828/the-rest-of-us-just-live-here

 

“Read-a-like for an adult version of Yoon Ha Lee’s books, looking for a Star Trek vibe.”

 

Brea - Space Opera by Catherynne Valente

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781481497503

https://www.overdrive.com/media/3442025/space-opera

 

Dark Orbit by Carolyn Ives Gilman

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780765336309

https://www.overdrive.com/media/2875604/dark-orbit

 

Jill - The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780062444134

https://www.overdrive.com/media/2245998/the-long-way-to-a-small-angry-planet

 

“Looking for lush historical horror a la Alma Katsu.”

 

Mallory - The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9781594484469

https://www.overdrive.com/media/552325/the-little-stranger

 

The Silent Companions by Laura Purcell

https://bookshop.org/a/4926/9780143131632

https://www.overdrive.com/media/3309311/the-silent-companions

0 Comments
Adding comments is not available at this time.