Info

Professional Book Nerds

We're not just book nerds. We're professional book nerds! We are staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks from public libraries and schools. It's our job to discuss books all day long so we thought, "Why not share the conversation!" Hear about the best books we've read, get recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. Every title discussed is available to borrow through public libraries. Get started reading at overdrive.com and subscribe to our podcast today!
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
Professional Book Nerds
2020
June
May
April
March
February
January


2019
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2018
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December


All Episodes
Archives
Now displaying: Page 1
Jan 21, 2016

Episode Overview

In our fifth episode, host Jill is joined by Adam and Sheila as they discuss some of the top award winners to come out of 2016 ALA Midwinter conference as well as some of the titles they've recently finished reading. Our reader recommendations are pulled from some of our Twitter followers and we also spend time remembering the late great David Bowie and Alan Rickman. 

Be sure to follow OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter and maybe you'll get a personalized recommendation on the podcast, too!

 

Featured OverDrive Staff

Jill, Sheila, and Adam

 

Intro (0:00-2:38)

 

ALA Award Winners (2:39-6:11)

Last Stop on Market Street by Matt De La Pena, Illustrated by Christian Robinson

The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Wonders of the Invisible World by Christopher Barzak

 

Recent Reads (6:12-15:39)

Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld

A Wild Swan and Other Tales by Michael Cunningham

The Gap of Time by Jeannette Winterson

William Shakespeare Star Wars by Ian Doescher

Evicted by Matthew Desmond

Jim Henson by Brian Jay Jones

A Step Toward Falling by Cammie McGovern

These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

Accidental Saints by Nadia Bolz-Weber

Pastrix by Nadia Bolz-Weber

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay

Every Day I Fight by Stuart Scott

 

Readers Advisory Recommendations (15:40-23:16) 

Readalikes for Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

 

Readalikes for Moby Dick by Herman Melville

 

Readalikes for In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson

 

Pre-Pubs and Other Books (23:17-30:12)

Morning Star by Pierce Brown, Book 3 in the Red Rising Trilogy

View from the Cheap Seats by Neil Gaiman

Up From the Sea by Leza Lowitz

Pax by Sara Pennypacker, author of the Clementine Series

Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell

The Oxford Inheritance by Ann A. McDonald

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

Black Chalk by Christopher J. Yates

The Likeness by Tana French

At the Existentialist Cafe by Sarah Bakewell

 

Remembering Alan Rickman and David Bowie (30:13-End)

Their bookish roles include Labyrinth: The Novelization, Harry Potter series, Sense and Sensibility, and The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood

 

Music

"Buddy" provided royalty free from www.bensound.com 

 

Podcast Overview

We're not just book nerds: we're professional book nerds and the staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks available through public libraries and schools. Hear about the best books we've read, get personalized recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. For more great reads, find OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter

0 Comments
Adding comments is not available at this time.