Info

Professional Book Nerds

We're not just book nerds. We're professional book nerds! We are staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks from public libraries and schools. It's our job to discuss books all day long so we thought, "Why not share the conversation!" Hear about the best books we've read, get recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. Every title discussed is available to borrow through public libraries. Get started reading at overdrive.com and subscribe to our podcast today!
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
Professional Book Nerds
2020
April
March
February
January


2019
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2018
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December


All Episodes
Archives
Now displaying: Page 18
Mar 3, 2016

Say Hello!

Find OverDrive on Facebook at OverDriveforLibraries and Twitter at @OverDriveLibs. Email us directly at feedback@overdrive.com 

 

Episode Overview

Today's podcast is a special episode related to the first Big Library Read pick of 2016. A couple of times a year, OverDrive offers users an opportunity to take part in a global book club through their library and this time the book choice is American Sniper by Chris Kyle, the man regarded as the most lethal sniper in United States Military History.

Big Library Read officially kicks off March 17th and in anticipation of the event, Adam sat down with Chris Kyle's widow Taya Kyle, who has written her own memoir, American Wife. Taya shares stories about her experiences as a military wife and what prompted Chris to write his book. She also discusses the Chris Kyle Frog Foundation, which assists service members, first responders, and their families.

For more information about Big Library Read visit www.BigLibraryRead.com 

For more information about Chris Kyle Frog Foundation visit www.ChrisKyleFrogFoundation.org 

 

 

Music

"Buddy" provided royalty free from www.bensound.com

 

Podcast Overview

We're not just book nerds: we're professional book nerds and the staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks available through public libraries and schools. Hear about the best books we've read, get personalized recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. For more great reads, find OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter

Feb 25, 2016

Say Hello!

Find OverDrive on Facebook at OverDriveforLibraries and Twitter at @OverDriveLibs. Email us directly at feedback@overdrive.com 

 

Episode Overview

In this week's episode, Adam talks with Marie Bostwick, author of the popular Cobbled Quilt and Too Much, Texas series. Her new book, From Here to Home, comes out at the end of March and along with discussing that novel's unique protagonist Mary Dell Templeton, Marie also shares how she became the writer she is today, which happened almost accidentally. She also offers some really fantastic tips to all the writer's out there on how to achieve their own writing goals. Her love of reading and libraries started at an early age and she tells Adam about how she became the youngest card carrying member of her local library as a child. 

 

Growing up, some of Marie's favorite books included:

  • Hop on Pop by Dr. Seuss
  • Little House on the Prairie series
  • My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George
  • Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
  • The Endless Steppe by Esther Hautzig

 

Marie's personal recommendations for our listeners:

 

For those readers interested in Marie's books, here are her own suggestions of where to start:

 

Music

"Buddy" provided royalty free from www.bensound.com

 

Podcast Overview

We're not just book nerds: we're professional book nerds and the staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks available through public libraries and schools. Hear about the best books we've read, get personalized recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. For more great reads, find OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter

Feb 18, 2016

Say Hello!

Find OverDrive on Facebook at facebook.com/OverDriveforLibraries and Twitter @OverDriveLibs and email the podcast directly at feedback@overdrive.com 

 

Episode Overview

In our ninth episode we are talking all things science fiction and fantasy! If you're not familiar with either genre that's okay because some of the recent reads that Jill, Quinton, and Rachel K. mention include some non-genre picks as well before discussing the differences between science fiction and fantasy. From there, they offer their best picks for those new to either genre and the differences between hard and soft science fiction. Quinton offers some readalikes for those who enjoyed The Martian and the trio share their favorite fantasy novels before discussing the forthcoming titles they are most excited to read. 

 

Featured OverDrive Staff

Jill, Rachel K., and Quinton

 

Intro (0:00-4:09)

 

Recent Reads (4:10-10:09)

A Mother's Reckoning by Sue Klebold

American Housewife by Helen Ellis

Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel  

Shadows of Self by Brian Sanderson

Dirty Streets of Heaven by Tad Williams

 

Differences Between Science Fiction and Fantasy (10:10 - 16:29)

Star Wars 

Interstellar by Greg Keyes

 

Genre Intro Books and Our Favorites (16:30-25:51)

Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card

Old Man's War by John Scalzi

Android's Dream by John Scalzi

Storm Front by Jim Butcher, Book 1 in the Dresden Files

Leviathan Wakes by James S. A. Corey, book 1 of the Expanse series

Three Body Problem by Cixin Liu

The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood

The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

The Leftovers by Tom Perrotta

The Martian by Andy Weir

The Hitchiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan, Book 1 in the Wheel of Time series

A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin, Book 1 in A Song of Ice and Fire series

The Sheriff of Yrnameer by Michael Rubens

The Weirdness by Jeremy P. Bushnell

The Princess Bride by William Goldman

 

Hard Science Fiction v. Soft Science Fiction (25:52-29:15)

2001: A Space Odyssey by Arthur C. Clarke

 

The Martin Readalikes (29:16-34:41)

Agent to the Stars by John Scalzi

Lock In by John Scalzi

Love in the Age of Mechanical Reproduction by Judd Trichter

Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson

Cryptonomicon by Neal Stephenson

 

Our Favorite Fantasy Novels and Other Books (34:42-40:25)

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss, Book 1 in the Kingkiller Chronicle series

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson, Book 1 of the Stormlight Archive series

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J. K. Rowling

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris, Book 1 of the Sookie Stackhouse series

Midnight Crossed by Charlaine Harris, Book 1 of the Midnight, Texas series

Red Rising by Pierce Brown, Book 1 of the Red Rising Trilogy

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness, Book 1 of the All Souls trilogy

 

Books Coming Soon (40:26-End)

Try Not to Breathe by Holly Seddon

Evicted by Matthew Desmond

Mechanical Failure by Joe Zieja

Lovecraft Country by Matt Ruff

Arkwright by Allen Steele

Cursed Child script

 

Music

"Buddy" provided royalty free from www.bensound.com 

 

Podcast Overview

We're not just book nerds: we're professional book nerds and the staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks available through public libraries and schools. Hear about the best books we've read, get personalized recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. For more great reads, find OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter

Feb 11, 2016

Say Hello!

Find OverDrive on Facebook at OverDriveforLibraries and Twitter at @OverDriveLibs. Email us directly at feedback@overdrive.com 

 

Episode Overview

In our second author interview, Adam interviews Sunil Yapa, author of Your Heart Is a Muscle the Size of a Fist, which takes place over one day during the 1999 World Trade Organization protests in Seattle. Sunil shares why he chose that moment in history as the setting for his novel and gives some background and history of the protests. He also gives Adam and listeners a glimpse into his writing process and how some of his own life experiences were woven into the fictional characters he has created. Adam also asks him about what can only be described as a writer's worst nightmare: losing a manuscript, which happened to Sunil with the original 600 page draft of the book. But rewriting the novel offered Sunil the opportunity to reexamine his characters and focus on the ones that he was truly invested in.

Along with talking about her own book, Sunil shares memories of going to the library as a child and being a voracious readers, including reading Stephen King's IT at 12 or 13 and being terrified, but also loving The Wonderful Story of Henry Sugar by Roald Dahl.

Sunil Yapa's other book recommendations:

Underworld by Don DeLillo

Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee

 

Music

"Buddy" provided royalty free from www.bensound.com

 

Podcast Overview

We're not just book nerds: we're professional book nerds and the staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks available through public libraries and schools. Hear about the best books we've read, get personalized recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. For more great reads, find OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter

Feb 4, 2016

Say Hello!

Find OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter and email the podcast directly at feedback@overdrive.com 

 

Episode Overview

Valentine's Day is just around the corner so the staff librarians here at OverDrive decided to dedicate an episode to the Romance genre. But because we are all such well-rounded readers, we cover more than just your typical "bodice rippers," discussing some young adult titles and Amish romances, but also titles perfect for Galentine's Day and those single on this particular holiday. Of course, we can't discuss the Romance genre without mentioning some of our favorite punny titles as well. 

 

Featured OverDrive Staff

Jill, Rachel W., Liz 

 

Intro (0:00-3:19)

 

Recent Reads (3:20-10:54)

Boy In the Black Suit by Jason Reynolds

This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

The Painter's Daughter by Julie Klassen

The Rogue Not Taken by Sarah MacLean

 

Favorite Punny Titles (10:55-13:00)

A Rogue By Any Other Name by Sarah MacLean

One Good Earl Deserves A Lover by Sarah MacLean

A Scot in the Dark by Sarah MacLean

Say Yes to the Marquess by Tessa Dare

Love in the Time of Scandal by Caroline Linden

Cold-Hearted Rake by Lisa Kleypas

No Groom at the Inn by Megan Frampton

 

Jane Austen Retellings & Amish Romances (13:01-17:22)

Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld, author of Prep

First Impressions by Sarah Price

Second Chances by Sarah Price

 

Readers Advisory Recommendations (17:23-37:08) 

Galentine's Day Reads

Quirky Alone Day Reads

 

Pre-Pubs and Other Books (37:09-End)

From This Moment by Elizabeth Camden

Monsters: A Love Story by Liz Kaye

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

The Luckiest Lady In London by Sherry Thomas

 

Music

"Buddy" provided royalty free from www.bensound.com 

 

Podcast Overview

We're not just book nerds: we're professional book nerds and the staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks available through public libraries and schools. Hear about the best books we've read, get personalized recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. For more great reads, find OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter

Jan 28, 2016

Say Hello!

Find OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter and email the podcast directly at feedback@overdrive.com 

 

Episode Overview

Thursday, February 4th marks the second annual Harry Potter Book Night and the OverDrive staff is celebrating! We are a company full of Harry Potter fans and in today's episode, two Ravenclaws, a Gryffindor, and a Slytherin share how they first got into J.K. Rowling's series, remember standing in line at midnight book releases, and, of course, discuss the movies versus the books. You'll also get to hear which books are our favorites and why. With ALA's annual conference in Orlando this summer, there is also talk about the Wizarding World of Harry Potter theme park at Universal Studios Florida. 

 

Featured OverDrive Staff

Jill, Rachel K., Emma, and Adam

 

Music

"Buddy" provided royalty free from www.bensound.com 

 

Podcast Overview

We're not just book nerds: we're professional book nerds and the staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks available through public libraries and schools. Hear about the best books we've read, get personalized recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. For more great reads, find OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter

Jan 21, 2016

Episode Overview

In our fifth episode, host Jill is joined by Adam and Sheila as they discuss some of the top award winners to come out of 2016 ALA Midwinter conference as well as some of the titles they've recently finished reading. Our reader recommendations are pulled from some of our Twitter followers and we also spend time remembering the late great David Bowie and Alan Rickman. 

Be sure to follow OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter and maybe you'll get a personalized recommendation on the podcast, too!

 

Featured OverDrive Staff

Jill, Sheila, and Adam

 

Intro (0:00-2:38)

 

ALA Award Winners (2:39-6:11)

Last Stop on Market Street by Matt De La Pena, Illustrated by Christian Robinson

The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Wonders of the Invisible World by Christopher Barzak

 

Recent Reads (6:12-15:39)

Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld

A Wild Swan and Other Tales by Michael Cunningham

The Gap of Time by Jeannette Winterson

William Shakespeare Star Wars by Ian Doescher

Evicted by Matthew Desmond

Jim Henson by Brian Jay Jones

A Step Toward Falling by Cammie McGovern

These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

Accidental Saints by Nadia Bolz-Weber

Pastrix by Nadia Bolz-Weber

Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay

Every Day I Fight by Stuart Scott

 

Readers Advisory Recommendations (15:40-23:16) 

Readalikes for Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

 

Readalikes for Moby Dick by Herman Melville

 

Readalikes for In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson

 

Pre-Pubs and Other Books (23:17-30:12)

Morning Star by Pierce Brown, Book 3 in the Red Rising Trilogy

View from the Cheap Seats by Neil Gaiman

Up From the Sea by Leza Lowitz

Pax by Sara Pennypacker, author of the Clementine Series

Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell

The Oxford Inheritance by Ann A. McDonald

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

Black Chalk by Christopher J. Yates

The Likeness by Tana French

At the Existentialist Cafe by Sarah Bakewell

 

Remembering Alan Rickman and David Bowie (30:13-End)

Their bookish roles include Labyrinth: The Novelization, Harry Potter series, Sense and Sensibility, and The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood

 

Music

"Buddy" provided royalty free from www.bensound.com 

 

Podcast Overview

We're not just book nerds: we're professional book nerds and the staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks available through public libraries and schools. Hear about the best books we've read, get personalized recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. For more great reads, find OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter

Jan 14, 2016

Episode Overview

Today's episode features OverDrive's own social media guru Adam as he interviews Marieke Nijkamp, Dutch author of the brand new YA novel This Is Where It Ends which focuses on the terrifying 54 minutes of a school shooting as seen through the eyes of four different perspectives.

Marieke discusses her writing and research process as well as the incident that proved to be the catalyst for her debut novel. A strong advocate of #WeNeedDiverseBooks, Marieke shares her own personal perspective of why diversity in literature, and especially YA literature, is so very important. 

Along with talking about her own book, Marieke offers her own book recommendations for our podcast listeners. Some of her recent reads and favorite books are as follows:

The Letter for the King by Tonke Dragt

Last Leaves Falling by Sarah Benwell

Just Visiting by Dahlia Adler

The forthcoming book she's most looking forward to reading is: 

The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

 

Episode was recorded in Boston at 2016 ALA Midwinter. 

 

Podcast Overview

We're not just book nerds: we're professional book nerds and the staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks available through public libraries and schools. Hear about the best books we've read, get personalized recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. For more great reads, find OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter

Jan 7, 2016

We're not just book nerds: we're professional book nerds and the staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks available through public libraries and schools. Hear about the best books we've read, get personalized recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. For more great reads, find OverDrive on Facebook and Twitter

Featured Librarians

Jill, Todd, and Sheila

 

Intro (0:00-1:55)

 

Recent Reads (1:56-16:33)

The Nest by Kenneth Oppel

Lafayette in the Somewhat United States by Sarah Vowell

The Dorito Effect by Mark Schatzker

Most Dangerous by Steve Sheinkin

The Tsar of Love and Techno by Anthony Marra

The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory

 

Readers Advisory Recommendations (16:34-24:40) 

Books to celebrate Appreciate a Dragon Day

Audiobook road trip recommendations for someone who likes storyteller comedians and humorous biographies like Amy Poehler's Yes Please

Books for someone who likes "wizards and stuff." Favorite series is The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher which starts with Storm Front.

  • Hounded by Kevin Hearne. Book 1 of The Iron Druid Chronicles
  • Bloodlist by P. N. Elrod. Book 1 of The Vampire Files 
  • The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. Book 1 of The Kingkiller Chronicle
  • The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima. Book 1 of The Heir Chronicles

 

Pre-Pubs and Other Books (24:41-End)

Sweetbitter by Stephanie Danler

Dodgers by Bill Beverly

Booked by Kwame Alexander

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. Book 1 of Shadowhunters: The Mortal Instruments Series

The Bitter Side of Sweet by Tara Sullivan

A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson

Notes From a Small Island  by Bill Bryson

Road to Little Dribbling by Bill Bryson

The Lost Continent by Bill Bryson

Black Rabbit Hall by Eve Chase

 

Music

"Buddy" provided royalty free from www.bensound.com 

Dec 24, 2015

We're not just book nerds: we're professional book nerds and the staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks available through public libraries and schools. Hear about the best books we've read, get personalized recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. 

Featured Librarians 

Jill, Liz, and Kristin

 

Intro (0:00-1:50)

 

Recent Reads (1:50-14:00)

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Fortunately the Milk by Neil Gaimen

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

 

Readers Advisory Recommendations (14:00-26:30)

Holiday gift for a single father who isn't a big reader, but enjoys Star Wars and superheroes.

First grader who is a strong reader but still wants some pictures in his books.

Holiday gift for a woman who has previously enjoyed Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn, The Paris Wife by Paula McLain, and Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier. 

Pre-Pubs (26:30-End) 

American Housewife by Helen Ellis

Girl Who Raced Fairyland All the Way Home by Catherynne M. Valente, illustrated by Ana Juan

Solutions and Other Problems by Allie Brosh

In a Different Key: The Story of Autism by John Donvan and Caren Zucker

The Lost Tudor Princess: The Life of Lady Margaret Douglas by Alison Weir

 

Music

"Buddy" provided royalty free from www.bensound.com 

Dec 10, 2015

We're not just book nerds: we're professional book nerds and the staff librarians who work at OverDrive, the leading app for eBooks and audiobooks available through public libraries and schools. Hear about the best books we've read, get personalized recommendations, and learn about the hottest books coming out that we can't wait to dive into. 

 

Librarians Featured  

Jill, Emma, and Rachel K.

 

Intro (0:00 - 2:20)

 

Recent Reads (2:20-18:56)

City on Fire by Garth Risk Hallberg

M Train by Patti Smith

American Wife by Taya Kyle

Career of Evil by Robert Gailbraith

After You by JoJo Moyes

Girl Online on Tour by Zoe Sugg (Zoella) 

Under the Banner of Heaven by Jon Krakauer

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Ted Hughes: An Unauthorised Life by Jonathan Bate

Walking Dead Series, Book 1 by Robert Kirkman

 

Readers Advisory Recommendations (18:56-30:43)

Narrative non-fiction titles

Readalikes for The Good Girl by Mary Kubica and The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Good Book Club picks

 

Pre-Pubs (30:43-End)

A Wild Swan and Other Tales by Michael Cunningham

Power Corruption and Lies: Inside New Order by Peter Hook

Strong Looks Better Naked by Khloe Kardashian

Hello Life by Marcus Butler

Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King

After Alice by Gregory Maguire

 

Music

"Buddy" provided royalty free from www.bensound.com 

1 « Previous 12 13 14 15 16 17 18